Refining Scrap Metal and Reviving old Jewelry

A few weeks ago I decided to go through all the scrap metal I’ve been collecting since my college days, and sent it off to be refined (melted).

Scraps of Sterling Silver sheet metal and wire

Sterling Silver dust from filing

I sent off a huge bag to Rio Grande, where they’ll give me a store credit for all the metal I sent them, and they’ll melt it down to be made into brand new sheet metal and wire.

While I was going through all my scraps and old pieces of jewelry, I found some pieces that just needed a little tlc and attention to be transformed into lovely little science inspired gems. I just added these to my etsy shop:

Cell Formation 12. Sterling Silver.

Large Petri Dish. Sterling Silver

Proton Necklace. Sterling Silver and Jade.

I actually made this proton necklace (what feels like) a long time ago and had forgot about it – I think it’s totally cute. I love stumbling across something old and all of a sudden it’s brand new again!

About missps

artist, designer, scholar
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

