The Whale introduces Bathyspheres

The current book I’m reading is called The Whale, and I’m really enjoying it. I’ve been learning so many new things and researching a variety of oceanic topics, so I thought I’d share some of it. I’m going out on a limb and declaring that this might actually become a “recurring feature” on my blog, so I’ll continue to share some of the new and interesting things that reading The Whale has introduced me to.

The image above features a bathysphere flanked by William Beebe and Otis Barton (a naturalist and engineer, respectively). William Beebe was working on exploring deep sea creatures off Bermuda when he realized that helmut diving wasn’t going to cut it. Helmut diving (in the 1920’s) only allowed people to dive down 100 feet, submarines could go 350+ feet, but had no windows, which wouldn’t help Beebe in his quest to explore the sea.

Working with Barton, the two men developed a submersible that would allow them to reach depths of 3,000 feet – deeper than any human had ventured! The bathysphere was a cast steel sphere that weighed 2.25 tons on land, and was lowered into the sea by steel cables (the 3,000 feet of cable weighed 1.35 tons).

I recommend reading more here. I find this stuff really fascinating and spend most nights laying in bed dreaming about it.

About missps

artist, designer, scholar
This entry was posted in Day Dreams, images that make me happy, inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Whale introduces Bathyspheres

  1. LK says:

    I’d love to hear what you dream about! Also, what did they discover down there? How did they breathe?!

    • missps says:

      They discovered all kinds of new creatures that had never before been seen, as well as documented the underwater geography of Bermuda, and countless other new observations of the deep sea. To breathe, they carried oxygen tanks with them. Also important: they had pans of soda lime and calcium chloride inside the sphere to absorb the expelled CO2.

Leave a Reply

