The Stuff of Nightmares

I had a dream about a week ago that has not ceased to haunt me. It seemed significant and related to my life at the moment, so I’ve been trying to work out some of the elements through drawing and writing. Like most things I do, the writing and drawing required some research… so I could nail down a few floating elements and have tangible parts that I could push around on paper.

I don’t really think the details of the dream are all that relevant at this point, but a significant amount of the emotion in the dream came from being surrounded by alligators while swimming through a pond. I came upon the photo above on the National Geographic Photo of the Day, and it seemed to really capture a moment in the dream when I first realized that the alligators were present.

I felt compelled to do my research because while writing, I found myself using alligator and crocodile interchangably, even though I know they’re two different animals.  I learned that the most obvious physical difference is the shape of the head/jaws. Alligators have a shorter and more rounded shape (above left), while crocs have a more pointed shape. You can read more here if you’re curious, but for me, this was just the info I needed. It turns out I was dreaming of alligators, not crocodiles…

My research also introduced me to this mysterious creature: the Gharial. These beasts grow to an average of 16 feet long and 1,500 pounds and are powerful swimmers. Read more here, if you dare.

(click on images for sources)

About missps

artist, designer, scholar
This entry was posted in Day Dreams, inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Stuff of Nightmares

  1. i don’t dare! the gharial looks like a prehistoric beast!

Leave a Reply

