From California to Maine

I have been living in Maine for two months now. The way I have been feeling seems so big I don’t know where it begins or ends or blends into something else. I have wanted to write about it, but I have been (and still feel) unable to identify the elements to describe it. It felt scary while Linz and I were making our preparations to move, but those anxieties have made way for new ones. Already I have had the joy of experiencing beautiful and simple moments with my family and friends, moments that would not have happened were I not living here.

Image

But now, as I forge a new routine and rhythm for myself, I feel swamped by my own expectations and experiences, unsure of how to sort them out. Part of the difficulty is not yet having a routine or rhythm. I know that as I build the structure for myself to reflect and digest and dream, things will ease. I expected certain elements of my California life to transfer here seamlessly, things I now know need time to grow their own roots and find a new way to live here. I’m confidant it will happen, but it’s not always easy being patient with myself.

Image

About missps

artist, designer, scholar
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

